Latest News

Photos: Rubio Tours The Villages Charter School

U.S. Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) toured The Villages Charter School with Villages Charter School President Dr. Gary Lester. Rubio has long defended and supported school choice in Florida. While at the school, Rubio also met with members of the girl’s flag football...

read more

Rubio Habla Con Oscar Haza

“La Administración Biden nos ha puesto en una posición sumamente difícil, porque ahora Venezuela, a través de Maduro, está chantajeando a EE.UU.” El senador estadounidense Marco Rubio (R-FL) habló con Oscar Haza en Ahora con Oscar Haza de Zeta 92.3 y Mega TV, sobre el...

read more

Senator Rubio Joins Colleagues To Protect Social Security And Military Pay

Jul 26, 2011 | Press Releases

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) today joined Senator Pat Toomey (R-PA) and 29 other senators in introducing legislation to ensure the full faith and credit of the United States while protecting America’s soldiers and seniors. 

The Full Faith and Credit of the United States and Protecting America’s Seniors and Soldiers Act would require the Treasury Department to prioritize payments on publicly-held debt, Social Security and active-duty military pay, in the event the federal government fails to raise the debt limit before August 2.

“For decades, seniors worked hard and paid into Social Security with the expectation that it would be there for them when they retired.  The President’s recent claims that there are now no guarantees for Social Security recipients or for armed service members beyond August 2 are both irresponsible and completely avoidable,” said Rubio.  “As the debt ceiling debate continues, Congress and the President should immediately approve this plan to reassure seniors and active service members that our government will not break our promises to them.”

Senator Toomey is the lead sponsor of the bill, and the following senators have already co-sponsored it: Sens. Kelly Ayotte; John Barrasso; John Boozman; Saxby Chambliss; Dan Coats; Tom Coburn; John Cornyn; Mike Crapo; Jim DeMint; Mike Enzi; Lindsey Graham; Chuck Grassley; Orrin Hatch; Dean Heller; John Hoeven; Kay Bailey Hutchison; James Inhofe; Johnny Isakson; Mike Johanns; Ron Johnson; Mark Kirk; Mike Lee; Richard Lugar; Jerry Moran; Rand Paul; James Risch; Pat Roberts; David Vitter and Roger Wicker.