Latest News

Rubio, Shaheen Introduce Hezbollah Sanctions Legislation

May 14, 2014 | Press Releases

Bipartisan bill would block Hezbollah’s access to financial and logistical support

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senators Marco Rubio (R-FL) and Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), both members of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, today introduced the Hezbollah International Financing Prevention Act of 2014, a bipartisan effort to block the terrorist organization’s financing and limit the group’s access to logistical support. Hezbollah has been a dangerous and destabilizing force in the Middle East and around the world for more than three decades, committing countless acts of terrorism, violence and intimidation.

“From the Middle East to our own hemisphere, Hezbollah, backed by its state sponsor Iran, threatens the United States, our allies, and our interests,” Senator Rubio said. “This legislation highlights the diverse illicit activities Hezbollah engages in to finance its operations and ensures that the United States is using all the tools at our disposal to shut down its networks, wherever they exist.”

“Hezbollah is one of the world’s most dangerous terrorist organizations and we must block the group’s access to financial and logistic support,” Senator Shaheen said. “In addition to being responsible for the murder of hundreds of American citizens, Hezbollah continues to sponsor terrorism across the globe and destabilize the Middle East, particularly through its support to President Bashar al-Assad’s brutal regime in Syria. This legislation makes clear that Hezbollah’s supporters and enablers will face consequences.”

The Hezbollah International Financing Prevention Act of 2014 broadens financial sanctions against Hezbollah by holding responsible the foreign financial institutions that enable its activities. It also pursues additional designations against Hezbollah and provides for increased scrutiny of support to the terrorist organization and its media offshoot al-Manar. The legislation is cosponsored by Senators Bob Casey (D-PA), Kelly Ayotte (R-NH), Ben Cardin (D-MD), James Risch (R-ID), Ed Markey (D-MA), John Cornyn (R-TX), Kristen Gillibrand (D-NY), and Lindsey Graham (R-SC).