Latest News

Rubio Habla en La Poderosa

El senador estadounidense Marco Rubio (R-FL) habló con César Grajales de La Poderosa 670 AM en El Panorama Político, sobre la crisis fronteriza, sobre cómo los hispanoamericanos se ven afectados con la realidad del país, sobre los cargos contra el senador Bob Menéndez...

read more

During National Police Week, Senate Passes Rubio-Coponsored Resolution Honoring Fallen Officers

May 17, 2018 | Press Releases

Washington, D.C. – During National Police Week, the U.S. Senate passed a resolution co-sponsored by U.S. Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) supporting law enforcement officers in Florida and throughout the United States. The resolution offers prayers and condolences to the families of fallen law enforcement officers, and honors the memory of the 129 law enforcement officers who died in the line of duty in 2017, including nine in Florida. Their names and ranks are as follows:  

Lieutenant Debra Clayton of the Orlando Police Department in Florida, who died on Monday, January 9, 2017.

Deputy First Class Norman Lewis of the Orange County Sheriff’s Office in Florida, who died on Monday, January 9, 2017.

Special Agent Rickey O’Donald of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, who died on Friday, February 17, 2017.

Officer Joshua Sanchez Montaad of the Office of Agricultural Law Enforcement of the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, who died on Tuesday, June 6, 2017.

Correctional Officer Joe William Heddy, Jr., of the Escambia County Department of Corrections in Florida, who died on Saturday, June 17, 2017.

Master Sergeant William Trampas Bishop of the Florida Highway Patrol, who died on Saturday, June 17, 2017.

Police Officer Matthew Scott Baxter of the Kissimmee Police Department in Florida, who died on Friday, August 18, 2017.

Sergeant Richard Samuel Howard of the Kissimmee Police Department in Florida, who died on Saturday, August 19, 2017.

Deputy Sheriff Julie Bridges of the Hardee County Sheriff’s Office in Florida, who died on Sunday, September 10, 2017.

Rubio also recently mourned the loss of Highlands County Sherriff’s Deputy William Gentry, who was murdered during a home visit.

The full text of the resolution is below:

Whereas Federal, State, local, and Tribal police officers, sheriffs, and other law enforcement officers across the United States serve with valor, dignity and integrity;

Whereas law enforcement officers are charged with pursuing justice for all individuals and performing their duties with fidelity to the constitutional and civil rights of the public they serve;

Whereas law enforcement officers swear an oath to uphold the public trust despite the fact that through the performance of their duties, they too may become targets for senseless acts of violence;

Whereas, in 1962, President John Fitzgerald Kennedy signed the Joint Resolution entitled “Joint Resolution to authorize the President to proclaim May 15 of each year as Peace Officers Memorial Day and the calendar week of each year during which such May 15 occurs as Police Week”, approved October 1, 1962 (36 U.S.C. 136) (referred to in this preamble as the “Joint Resolution”), which authorizes the President of the United States to proclaim May 15 of every year as Peace Officers Memorial Day “in honor of the Federal, State, and municipal officers who have been killed or disabled in the line of duty”;

Whereas the Joint Resolution also authorizes the President to designate the week in which Peace Officers Memorial Day falls as National Police Week;

Whereas the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial, dedicated on October 15, 1991, is the national monument to honor those law enforcement officers who have died in the line of duty;

Whereas the 37th Annual National Peace Officers Memorial Service, held this year, will honor the 129 law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty in 2017, including Stephen L. Ackerman, Ryan M. Albin, Aaron W. Allan, Damon C. Allen, Colt E. Allery, Shawn T. Anderson, Stephen J. Ballard, Curtis A. Bartlett, Berke M.M. Bates, Matthew S. Baxter, Justin L. Beard, Curtis B. Billue, William T. Bishop, Curtis W. Blackbird, Anthony J. Borostowski, Keith W. Boyer, Timothy A. Braden, Kevin J. Brewer, Julie A. England Bridges, Thomas C. Bunker, Mark J. Burbridge, Michael C. Butler, Meggan L. Callahan, Andrew J. Camilleri, Sr., James E. Chapman, Lucas F. Chellew, James E. Clark, Debra L. Clayton, Sander B. Cohen, Sean F. Cookson, Kenneth M. Copeland, Carl T. Cosper, Jr., Jaimie J.A. Cox, Aaron L. Crook, Henry J. Cullen III, Veronica S. Darden, Joel R. Davis, Benjamin A. De Los Santos-Barbosa, Nathan M. Desjardins, Mark G. Diebold, Steven E. DiSario, Bernard W. Domagala, Kenneth J. Doyle, Donald W. Durr, Floyd East, Jr., David J. Fahey, Jr., Brian S. Falb, Miosotis P. Familia, Jason M. Fann, Steven R. Floyd, Sr., Michael R. Foley, Robert A. French, Jason A. Garner, Randall S. Gibson, Jonathan W.R. Ginka, Nathan B. Graves, Clinton F. Greenwood, Thomas J. Hannon, Jason G. Harris, Charleston V. Hartfield, Kevin M. Haverly, Kristen N. Hearne, Joe W. Heddy, Jr., Devin P. Hodges, David J. Hoefler, Richard S. Howard III, Stephen R. Jenkins, Sr., Robert J. Johnson, Donald O. Kimbrough, Stephen T. Kubinski, Houston J. Largo, Paul Lazinsky, Craig E. Lehner, Justin A. Leo, Norman C. Lewis, Angel L. Lorenzo-Gonzalez, Michael D. Louviere, Kevin C. Mainhart, Elias Martinez, Rogelio Martinez, William A. Mathews, Hector L. Matias-Torres, Steven D. McDonald, Marcus A. McNeil, Gregory M. Meagher, Mark L. Mecham, Roberto Medina-Mariani, Jay R. Memmelaar, Jr., D. Heath Meyer, Gary L. Michael, Jr., Michael P. Middlebrook, Christopher J. Monica, Joshua S. Montaad, Mason P. Moore, Isaac Morales, Miguel I. Moreno, Marvin S. Moyer, Eric W. Mumaw, Raymond A. Murrell, Thomas P. Nipper, Rickey O’Donald, Terrence S. O’Hara, Timothy J. O’Neill, Eric B. Overall, Chad W. Parque, Zackari S. Parrish III, Steve A. Perez, Monty D. Platt, Daniel K. Rebman, Jr., Nicholas A. Rodman, Robert P. Rumfelt, Wendy L. Shannon, Brian D. Shaw, Justin J. Smith, Michael P. Stewart III, Sean M. Suiter, Matthew L. Tarentino, Shana R. Tedder, Jimmy D. Tennyson, Justin M. Terney, David Torres-Chaparro, Andre H. Van Vegten, David J. Wade, Jerry R. Walker, James M. Wallace, Michael T. Walter, Patrick N. Weatherford, Jason T. Weiland, and Elise A. Ybarra; and

Whereas, since the beginning of 2018, more than 50 law enforcement officers from across the United States have made the ultimate sacrifice: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Senate—
(1) designates the week of May 13 through May 19, 2018, as “National Police Week”;
(2) expresses strong support for law enforcement officers across the United States in their efforts to build safer and more secure communities;
(3) recognizes the need to ensure that law enforcement officers have the equipment, training, and resources necessary to protect their health and safety while they are protecting the public;
(4) recognizes the members of the law enforcement community for their selfless acts of bravery;
(5) acknowledges that police officers and other law enforcement personnel who have made the ultimate sacrifice should be remembered and honored;
(6) expresses condolences to the loved ones of each law enforcement officer who has made the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty; and
(7) encourages the people of the United States to observe National Police Week with appropriate ceremonies and activities that promote awareness of the vital role law enforcement officers perform safeguarding the public trust for the United States.