Latest News

CECC Co-Chairs Lead Bipartisan, Bicameral Resolution on Tiananmen Square Massacre and Condemn National Security Law on Hong Kong

Jun 4, 2020 | Press Releases

Washington, D.C. — U.S. Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) and Rep. Jim McGovern, the Cochair and Chair of the bipartisan and bicameral Congressional-Executive Commission on China (CECC), respectively, led a bicameral, bipartisan resolution on the 31st  anniversary of the Tiananmen Square protests and their violent suppression. In the resolution, the Senate and House resolve to continue the commemoration of this tragic event until the Chinese people are able to do so freely, without censorship or harassment.

The Chairs were joined by Senators Cory Gardner (R-CO), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Steve Daines (R-MT), Diane Feinstein (D-CA), Rick Scott (R-FL), Angus King (I-ME), John Cornyn (R-TX), Gary Peters (D-MI), Josh Hawley (R-MO), and Todd Young (R-IN), as well as Representatives Chris Smith (R-NJ), Tom Suozzi (D-NY), Vicky Hartzler (R-MO), Ben McAdams (D-UT), and Tom Malinowski (D-NJ). 

The resolution also condemns the Chinese government’s efforts to dismantle the promised freedoms and autonomy of Hong Kong, including through the arbitrary arrest of democracy advocates and the forced imposition of national security legislation and it calls on the Administration to build an international coalition, and use all available diplomatic means and targeted sanctions, to protect the freedoms of the Hong Kong people.

The full text of the resolution is here.

Rubio is Cochair of the bipartisan and bicameral Congressional-Executive Commission on China (CECC), the Chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations’ Subcommittee that oversees human rights, and is a member of the Subcommittee on East Asia, the Pacific, and International Cybersecurity Policy.