Latest News

ICYMI: Rubio Joins Kudlow

U.S. Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) joined Kudlow to discuss terrorists crossing the southern border, the conservative case for industrial policy, and more. Watch the full interview on YouTube and Rumble. On the senator’s recent op-ed about terrorists crossing the...

read more

Next Week: Rubio Staff Hosts Mobile Office Hours

U.S. Senator Marco Rubio’s (R-FL) office will host in-person Mobile Office Hour next week to assist constituents with federal casework issues in their respective local communities. These office hours offer constituents who do not live close to one of Senator Rubio’s...

read more

Senators Introduce Legislation to Honor Amb. Christopher Stevens, Glen A. Doherty, Tyrone Woods and Sean Smith – Heroes Killed in Libyan Consulate Attack

Dec 16, 2015 | Press Releases

Washington, D.C.– Senators Marco Rubio (R-FL) Edward J. Markey (D-MA), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Kelly Ayotte (R-NH), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Ron Wyden (D-OR) and Jeff Merkley (D-OR) today introduced legislation to posthumously award the Congressional Gold Medal to J. Christopher Stevens, Glen A. Doherty, Tyrone Woods and Sean Smith in recognition of their contributions to the nation. Stevens, Doherty, Woods and Smith were killed in the attack on the U.S. consulate in Benghazi, Libya in September 2012.
Stevens was serving as United States Ambassador to Libya during the attack. Doherty, a former combat-decorated Navy SEAL, was a native of Winchester, Massachusetts. Woods, a native of Portland, Oregon was also a former combat-decorated Navy SEAL. Smith had served in the Air Force where he was awarded the Air Force Commendation Medal.
A copy of the legislation can be found here.
“These four courageous men are true American heroes, as they fought to serve and protect our nation until the very last moment,” said Rubio. “I am proud and honored to co- sponsor bipartisan legislation to pay tribute to their sacrifices with the Congressional Gold Medal. We must never forget the September 11 terrorist attacks on our facilities in Benghazi or the champions who lost their lives in the service of our country.”
“These distinguished public servants and warriors made the ultimate sacrifice for our nation, and their memories will live on as an inspiration to everyone for their bravery and commitment,” said Markey. “I am proud to introduce bipartisan legislation to honor their courage with the Congressional Gold Medal. These heroes made the ultimate sacrifice, and we will never forget their last full measure of devotion to our nation.”
“Four brave Americans died serving our country in Benghazi, and they deserve the recognition of a grateful nation,” said Warren. “The Congressional Gold Medal — the most prestigious award that the American people’s elected representatives can bestow — is a fitting honor. I am especially proud that this legislation honors a son of Massachusetts, Glen A. Doherty, for his sacrifice. His memory will always remain in the hearts of everyone in our Commonwealth.”
“These four courageous heroes made the ultimate sacrifice for our freedom and security, and we owe them a debt of gratitude we can never fully repay,” said Ayotte. “This medal represents the deep appreciation of a nation that will never forget their brave service and profound sacrifice.”
“The attacks against American facilities in Benghazi received an enormous amount of attention over the past three years. This legislation redirects the focus where it should be—on the four men who lost their lives in the line of duty while serving the national security and foreign interests of our nation,” said Feinstein. “We owe them our gratitude and recognition.”
“J. Christopher Stevens, Glen A. Doherty, Tyrone Woods and Sean Smith leave a proud legacy of service and sacrifice that our country must never forget,” said Wyden. “It’s my honor to recognize these four brave Americans through bipartisan legislation that pays deserved tribute to their memories and to the inspirational lives they led.”