Latest News

Senate Passes Rubio, Cardin Resolution Recognizing SBA’s National Small Business Week

Oct 1, 2020 | Press Releases

Washington D.C.This week, the U.S. Senate unanimously passed a resolution from U.S. Senators Marco Rubio (R-FL) and Ben Cardin (D-MD), Chairman and Ranking Member of the Senate Committee on Small Business and Entrepreneurship, recognizing the week of September 20, 2020 as “National Small Business Week.” This is the 57th year in which the designation has been made. The U.S. Small Business Administration’s (SBA) National Small Business Week celebrates American entrepreneurship and awards small businesses who are making a positive impact on their communities and driving local economies. The Rubio-Cardin Resolution highlights the important impact small businesses have on our economy and honors their contributions. 
“Small businesses have proven their adaptability and resilience despite the challenges of COVID-19,” Chairman Rubio said. “This National Small Business Week, please join me in recognizing the impact of the entrepreneurs who drive American innovation and bolster their communities. I remain committed to providing relief to America’s small business owners as they continue to weather the effects of the pandemic. I am hopeful that Congress can once again come together to act decisively on behalf of our nation’s small businesses.” 
“Small businesses serve a critical role in our economy: they improve industries through innovation, boost local economies, and employ nearly half of our country’s workforce,” Ranking Member Cardin said. “National Small Business Week is especially important this year due to the many ways—big and small—that our small businesses have stepped up to help our communities get through the pandemic. Now more than ever, these contributions deserve to be recognized. As our nation continues to confront COVID-19, I remain committed to ensuring that Congress is there for our nation’s small businesses just like they have been there for our communities during the pandemic.”
Joining Rubio and Cardin were Senators Lamar Alexander (R-TN), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Cory Booker (D-NJ), John Boozman (R-AR), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Tom Carper (D-DE), Chris Coons (D-DE), John Cornyn (R-TX), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Cory Gardner (R-CO), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), John Hoeven (R-ND), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), John Kennedy (R-LA), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), James Lankford (R-OK), Kelly Loeffler (R-GA), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Martha McSally (R-AZ), David Perdue (R-GA), Gary Peters (D-MI), Rob Portman (R-OH), Jim Risch (R-ID), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Ron Wyden (D-OR), and Todd Young (R-IN).