Latest News

ICYMI: Rubio Joins The Aaron Renn Show

U.S. Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) joined The Aaron Renn Show to discuss Rubio’s Labor Day report on working (and non-working) men. See below for highlights and listen to the full interview here. On protecting American jobs and interests: “We made a series of economic...

read more

ICYMI: Rubio Debates Coons on China, Environment

U.S. Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) debated Senator Chris Coons (D-DE) on China, global leadership, and environmental policy at an event hosted by the Bipartisan Policy Center’s Senate Project at George Washington University. “We have to shape a future that recognizes...

read more

Next Week: Rubio Staff Hosts Mobile Office Hours

U.S. Senator Marco Rubio’s (R-FL) office will host in-person and virtual Mobile Office Hours next week to assist constituents with federal casework issues in their respective local communities. These office hours offer constituents who do not live close to one of...

read more

Rubio Habla en Maxima 92.5 de Tampa Bay

El senador estadounidense Marco Rubio (R-FL) habló con Nio Encendio de Maxima 92.5 de Tampa Bay, sobre cómo la inflación ha impactado a las familias, sobre las olas de migración ilegal, sobre el juicio político de Biden vs. el de Trump, sobre el canje de prisioneros...

read more

Rubio, Markey, Colleagues Reintroduce Legislation to Award the Congressional Gold Medal to Heroes Killed in Benghazi Attack

Jul 8, 2019 | Press Releases

Washington, D.C. — U.S. Senators Marco Rubio (R-FL), Edward J. Markey (D-MA), Johnny Isakson (R-GA), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), and Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV) introduced bipartisan legislation to posthumously award the Congressional Gold Medal to J. Christopher Stevens, Glen A. Doherty, Tyrone Woods, and Sean Smith in recognition of their contributions to the nation. Stevens, Doherty, Woods, and Smith were killed in the attack on the U.S. consulate in Benghazi, Libya in September 2012.
Ambassador Stevens was serving as United States Ambassador to Libya during the attack. Doherty, a former combat-decorated Navy SEAL, was a native of Winchester, Massachusetts. Woods, a native of Portland, Oregon was also a former combat-decorated Navy SEAL. Smith had served in the Air Force where he was awarded the Air Force Commendation Medal.
“We must never forget the courageous American heroes who fought to serve and protect our nation while terrorists attacked our facilities in Benghazi,” Rubio said. “I am honored to join my colleagues in reintroducing this bipartisan legislation to honor their sacrifices with the Congressional Gold Medal and ensure we never forget the champions who lost their lives in service to our country.”
“Glen Doherty, Tyrone Woods, Sean Smith and Ambassador Stevens’ commitment to country and distinguished service made them American heroes and examples of excellence that will endure forever,” Markey said. “I am proud to introduce bipartisan legislation to honor their courage with the Congressional Gold Medal. These brave souls made the ultimate sacrifice, and we should honor their memories will this distinction.” 
“Awarding the Congressional Gold Medal to the heroes who were killed at the U.S. consulate in Benghazi is a long overdue recognition for these brave Americans,” Isakson said. “Recognizing their sacrifice for our country is not only the right thing to do, but also sends an important message of support to their families, as well as to our service members, members of our diplomatic corps and all those representing the United States in posts around the world.”
“Honoring the four brave Americans who served and died for our country during the September 2012 terrorist attack in Benghazi, Libya is too long overdue,” Warren said. “Ambassador Christopher Stevens, Glen Doherty, Tyrone Woods, and Sean Smith made heroic sacrifices, and it is appropriate that this bipartisan bill recognizes them with the Congressional Gold Medal.”
“The sacrifice and memory of the brave Americans killed in the Libyan Consulate impact our hearts to this day, and they deserve to be honored with the Congressional Gold Medal,” Capito said. “I’m proud to join my colleagues on both sides of the aisle to honor Ambassador Christopher Stevens, Glen A. Doherty, Tyrone Woods, and Sean Smith.”