Latest News

Rubio, Kaine, Colleagues Reintroduce Bipartisan Joint Resolution to Prevent Any President from Leaving NATO

Apr 15, 2021 | Press Releases

Washington, D.C. —  U.S. Senators Marco Rubio (R-FL)  and Tim Kaine (D-VA) reintroduced a bipartisan joint resolution to prohibit any President of the United States from withdrawing from NATO without Senate approval. The joint resolution requires the President to seek the advice and consent of the Senate before suspending, terminating, or withdrawing U.S. membership in NATO and formalizes the Senate’s opposition to doing so. If a President attempts to leave NATO without Senate approval, this will prohibit any funding from being used to do so and also authorizes Congressional Legal Counsel to challenge the Administration in court.
The full text of the joint resolution is here.
“As a critical military alliance for our national security interests and the security of our allies in Europe, NATO is more important than ever,” Rubio said. “With Moscow’s growing subversive aggressions, we must ensure no U.S. President withdraws from NATO without the advice and consent of the Senate.”
Joining Rubio and Kaine in introducing this joint resolution are Senators Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Susan Collins (R-ME), Chris Coons (D-DE), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Angus King (I-ME), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), and Mark Warner (D-VA)..
Rubio and Kaine are members of the Senate Committee on Foreign Relations.