Latest News

ICYMI: Rubio Joins The Aaron Renn Show

U.S. Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) joined The Aaron Renn Show to discuss Rubio’s Labor Day report on working (and non-working) men. See below for highlights and listen to the full interview here. On protecting American jobs and interests: “We made a series of economic...

read more

ICYMI: Rubio Debates Coons on China, Environment

U.S. Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) debated Senator Chris Coons (D-DE) on China, global leadership, and environmental policy at an event hosted by the Bipartisan Policy Center’s Senate Project at George Washington University. “We have to shape a future that recognizes...

read more

Next Week: Rubio Staff Hosts Mobile Office Hours

U.S. Senator Marco Rubio’s (R-FL) office will host in-person and virtual Mobile Office Hours next week to assist constituents with federal casework issues in their respective local communities. These office hours offer constituents who do not live close to one of...

read more

Rubio Honors the 13 Service Members Who Died at Abbey Gate as Senate Passes Congressional Gold Medal Bill

Nov 18, 2021 | Press Releases

Washington, D.C. — U.S. Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) released a statement after the Senate passed a bill (H.R. 5142 / S. 2756) to award posthumously a Congressional Gold Medal to the 13 service members who were killed during the terrorist attack on Abbey Gate while evacuating United States citizens and Afghan allies from Afghanistan on August 26, 2021. 

“It is humbling to witness the bravery and selflessness of the men and women who serve in the United States military,” Rubio said. “All too often they are given impossible tasks, but they answer the call of duty without reservation because they love our country and what it stands for. Those who gave their lives at Abbey Gate are heroes, each and every one of them. May God bless them, their families, and all of those who serve this great nation.”

As the resolution notes, Maxton Soviak, Kareem Nikoui, David Espinoza, Rylee McCollum, Jared Schmitz, Hunter Lopez, Taylor Hoover, Daegan William-Tyeler Page, Nicole Gee, Humberto Sanchez, Dylan Merola, Johanny Rosario Pichardo, and Ryan Knauss have been identified as the 13 service members who died from the blast while stationed at Hamid Karzai International Airport. Rubio was a cosponsor of the Senate companion bill.