Latest News

Rubio Habla en La Poderosa

El senador estadounidense Marco Rubio (R-FL) habló con César Grajales de La Poderosa 670 AM en El Panorama Político, sobre la crisis fronteriza, sobre cómo los hispanoamericanos se ven afectados con la realidad del país, sobre los cargos contra el senador Bob Menéndez...

read more

Rubio, Cornyn, Markey Introduce Bipartisan Bill to Make Juneteenth Federal Holiday

Jun 24, 2020 | Press Releases

Washington, D.C. — U.S. Senator Marco Rubio joined John Cornyn (R-TX), Ed Markey (D-MA), and a bipartisan coalition to introduce a bill to make Juneteenth a federal holiday. Currently, Juneteenth is celebrated by 46 states and the District of Columbia. 
Last week, the Senate passed a resolution, introduced by Senators Rubio and Cornyn, designating June 19, 2020 as “Juneteenth Independence Day” in recognition of June 19, 1865, the date in which news of the Emancipation Proclamation reached the Southwest, and ended slavery in the United States.
“The end of slavery was one of the most meaningful and significant events in the history of our republic, and Juneteenth is the most appropriate day to commemorate it,” Rubio said. “I am committed to working with my colleagues in the Senate to pass legislation that celebrates freedom and recognizes the end of slavery in the United States.”
Additional original cosponsors on the bill include Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Susan Collins (R-ME), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Bob Casey (D-PA), Chris Coons (D-DE), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Cory Gardner (R-CO), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Angus King (I-ME), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Patty Murray (D-WA), James Risch (R-ID), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Bernie Sanders (D-VT), Tim Scott (R-SC), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Tina Smith (D-MN), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Ron Wyden (D-OR), and Todd Young (R-IN).