Latest News

ICYMI: Rubio Pays Tribute to Alexei Navalny

Alexei Navalny’s Death Is a Loss for Russia and the World U.S. Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) February 21, 2024 Newsweek …For more than 10 years, [Alexei] Navalny openly opposed the Russian dictator, calling out the “crooks and thieves” in the Kremlin who enabled his...

read more

Rubio, Colleagues Pressure Biden to Delete TikTok

TikTok, a social media app controlled by the Chinese Communist Party, is a national security risk to the United States. Republicans and Democrats in Congress, the U.S. Department of Defense, the Federal Bureau of Investigation, and President Joe Biden’s White House...

read more

MEDIA ADVISORY: Rubio Asks for Unanimous Consent to Pass Hong Kong Human Rights and Democracy Act

Nov 19, 2019 | Press Releases

Washington, D.C. — At approximately 5:25pm EST today, U.S. Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) will go to the Senate floor with his colleagues to request unanimous consent that the Senate call up and pass his Hong Kong Human Rights and Democracy Act (S. 1838). The Senate Foreign Relations Committee amended and unanimously approved the bipartisan measure in September.
The U.C. request will be broadcast here.
Tuesday, November 19,2019
Approximately 5:25pm EST
Senator Rubio will request unanimous consent that the Senate call up and pass his Hong Kong Human Rights and Democracy Act.
Washington, D.C.
Co-sponsors of the legislation include Senators Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Jim Risch (R-ID), Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Angus S. King, Jr. (I-ME), Ed Markey (D-MA), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Pat Toomey (R-PA), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Susan Collins (R-ME), Chris Coons (D-DE), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), John Cornyn (R-TX), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Mark Warner (D-VA), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Todd Young (R-IN), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Mitt Romney (R-UT), James Inhofe (R-OK), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Rick Scott (R-FL), Chris Murphy (D-CT), John Hoeven (R-ND), Kamala Harris (D-CA), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Bob Casey (D-PA), Shelly Moore Capito (R-WV), Martha McSally (R-AZ), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Jack Reed (D-RI), James Lankford (R-OK), Johnny Isakson (R-GA), Ben Sasse (R-NE), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Mike Braun (R-IN), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), John Boozman (R-AR), and Chuck Grassley (R-IA)
The House passed similar legislation that was introduced by U.S. Representatives Jim McGovern (D-MA) and Chris Smith (R-NJ).