Últimas Noticias

Senate Passes Rubio, Cardin Resolution Recognizing National Veteran’s Small Business Week

Nov 7, 2019 | Comunicados de Prensa

Washington, D.C. — The U.S. Senate unanimously passed a resolution from U.S. Senators Marco Rubio (R-FL) and Ben Cardin (D-MD), Chairman and Ranking Member of the Senate Committee on Small Business and Entrepreneurship, designating November 4 – 8, 2019 as “National Veteran’s Small Business Week.” The Rubio-Cardin resolution honors America’s veterans and their continued service to our communities and economy through entrepreneurship. It also highlights the veteran-specific entrepreneurial resources and programs available through the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). The full text of the resolution can be found here. 
“Our 2.5 million veteran small business owners play an invaluable role in the US economy.  Each veteran’s military service has equipped them with a unique and valuable skill set that undoubtedly contributes to their entrepreneurial success,” Chairman Rubio said. “I am proud to work with my colleagues to honor the role our veteran-owned small businesses play in contributing to our communities and our nation. I am optimistic about working with Ranking Member Cardin to reauthorize the Small Business Act, which fully reauthorizes the Veteran Business Outreach Center program and provides fee relief to veterans seeking capital from the SBA.”
“Veterans leave the military with many of the tools they need to be strong leaders, but they still need support to transition from the military to the private sector,” Ranking Member Cardin said. “This National Veterans Small Business Week, we honor our veteran entrepreneurs’ contributions to our economy and we must commit ourselves to ensuring that they have the tools they need to translate the skills they learn in the military to the business world.”
Joining Rubio and Cardin in cosponsoring the resolution were Senators Lamar Alexander (R-TN), John Barrasso (R-WY), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Cory Booker (D-NJ), John Boozman (R-AR), Mike Braun (R-IN), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Susan Collins (R-ME), Steve Daines (R-MT), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), James Inhofe (R-OK), Johnny Isakson (R-GA), Doug Jones (D-AL), Tim Kaine (D-VA), John Kennedy (R-LA), James Lankford (R-OK), Martha McSally (R-AZ), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Jack Reed (D-RI), Jim Risch (R-ID), Pat Roberts (R-KS), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Rick Scott (R-FL), Tim Scott (R-SC), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), and Todd Young (R-IN).