Últimas Noticias

Rubio Honors the 13 Service Members Who Died at Abbey Gate as Senate Passes Congressional Gold Medal Bill

Nov 18, 2021 | Comunicados de Prensa

Washington, D.C. — U.S. Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) released a statement after the Senate passed a bill (H.R. 5142 / S. 2756) to award posthumously a Congressional Gold Medal to the 13 service members who were killed during the terrorist attack on Abbey Gate while evacuating United States citizens and Afghan allies from Afghanistan on August 26, 2021. 

“It is humbling to witness the bravery and selflessness of the men and women who serve in the United States military,” Rubio said. “All too often they are given impossible tasks, but they answer the call of duty without reservation because they love our country and what it stands for. Those who gave their lives at Abbey Gate are heroes, each and every one of them. May God bless them, their families, and all of those who serve this great nation.”

As the resolution notes, Maxton Soviak, Kareem Nikoui, David Espinoza, Rylee McCollum, Jared Schmitz, Hunter Lopez, Taylor Hoover, Daegan William-Tyeler Page, Nicole Gee, Humberto Sanchez, Dylan Merola, Johanny Rosario Pichardo, and Ryan Knauss have been identified as the 13 service members who died from the blast while stationed at Hamid Karzai International Airport. Rubio was a cosponsor of the Senate companion bill.