Últimas Noticias

Rubio, Cruz Introduce Bill to Ban Iranian President Raisi from Entering the United States

Sep 15, 2022 | Comunicados de Prensa

Iranian President Ebrahim Raisi is complicit in the mass murder of Iranian dissidents and in the Iranian regime’s active plans to assassinate former U.S. officials on American soil. Nevertheless, the Biden Administration has not moved to deny Raisi a visa to enter the United States in order to attend the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) in New York City, despite multiple congressional requests to do so both last year y this year

U.S. Senators Marco Rubio (R-FL) and Ted Cruz (R-TX) introduced the Strengthening Entry Visa Enforcement and Restrictions Act of 2022 (SEVER Act) to prevent Raisi from entering the United States and attending the UNGA.

  • “Ebrahim Raisi actively supports terrorism and wants to kill American citizens. Although I’m not surprised he wants to reunite with the many other murderers and thugs who claim membership at the United Nations, Raisi should not be allowed into the United States. Our bill would accomplish what the Biden Administration appears unwilling to do: ban Raisi’s entrance into the country and protect our national security.” — Senator Rubio

  • “Iranian President Ebrahim Raisi would already be excluded from entering the United States for the U.N. General Assembly if President Biden and his administration were enforcing existing statutes in good faith. Raisi has a record of terrorist activities, including his advocacy for the assassination of President Trump and other U.S. officials. He is also listed by the State Department as ineligible for entering the United States because of mass atrocities he committed. Nevertheless, the Biden administration seems set on circumventing these restrictions. The SEVER Act will deny entry to Raisi and the few dozen individuals who are hand-picked by the Ayatollah to repress the Iranian people and pose threats to American national security, to ensure they cannot get into the United States. It is well within the rights of the United States to deny them entry, and we absolutely should.” — Senator Cruz

Senators Tom Cotton (R-AR), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Joni Ernst (R-IA), and John Barrasso (R-WY) are also cosponsors.