Últimas Noticias

Rubio Announces Judicial Advisory Commission

Apr 20, 2021 | Comunicados de Prensa

Washington, D.C. — U.S. Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL) announced members of his Judicial Advisory Commission (JAC) for the 117th Congress. The JAC closely resembles Rubio’s bipartisan commission for the 116th Congress. Prior to that, Rubio partnered with then-Senator Bill Nelson for eight years on a similar bipartisan commission. 
Former Lieutenant Governor Carlos Lopez-Cantera will serve as the JAC’s statewide chair. Leonard Collins will chair the Northern District JAC. Domingo Sanchez will chair the Middle District JAC. Manny Kadre will chair the Southern District JAC. All four served in the same capacity for Rubio’s commission in the 116th Congress and the Rubio-Nelson commission in the 115th Congress. A full list of members is below.
“It is absolutely critical that we maintain the integrity and independence of our judiciary,” Rubio said. “I am proud of the work our commission has done over the years and grateful for the willingness of Carlos, Len, Domingo, Manny, and all of our commission members to continue in that bipartisan tradition.”
Since 2017 the Senate has confirmed a dozen Florida district court judges recommended by Rubio, and those judges averaged nearly 70 votes in favor despite the deeply divided and partisan nature of the Senate. 
Northern District JAC:
Carlos Lopez-Cantera – Statewide Chair
Leonard Collins – District Chair
Philip Bates 
Christa Calamas 
Marti Coley 
Mireille Fall-Fry 
Donald Hinkle
Wiley Horton  
Keith Hoskins 
Cody Khan 
William Large
J. Collier Merrill 
Mark Minck 
Christopher Moya
Amber Stoner Nunnally 
Daryl Parks 
Scott Ross 
Steve Southerland, II 
R. Waylon Thompson 
Middle District JAC:  
Carlos Lopez-Cantera – Statewide Chair
Domingo Sanchez – District Chair
Lyndon Carter 
Jay Demetree
Angela Eady
Eddie Fernandez 
Dan Gerber
Nathaniel Glover 
Charles Hart 
Tom Lee
Charles McBurney
Nora Miller 
Ed Page 
Paul Perez 
Scott Plakon 
Chris Posteraro
Adam McGill Ross 
Carol Saviak 
Southern District JAC:
Carlos Lopez-Cantera – Statewide Chair
Manny Kadre – District Chair
Georgina A. Angones
Nelson Diaz 
Renier Diaz de la Portilla 
Albert E. Dotson, Jr. 
Robert H. Fernandez 
Dan Gelber 
Jillian Hasner
Jorge Hernandez-Toraño
Yolanda Cash Jackson 
Seth Miles
Bernie Navarro 
Ed Pozzuoli 
Steve L. Waserstein
Additional details on applications will be forthcoming.